Home Kathmandu  Parliamentary special committee toprobe simraungadh incident

 Parliamentary special committee toprobe simraungadh incident


Kathmandu, 20 October 2014: The meeting today of the Legislature-Parliament formed a parliamentary special committee to probe the incident that took place in Simraungadh of Bara on October 11.

One person was killed and another injured in the incident following a clash between locals and the police. The locals had been staging a demonstration calling for renovation of a local road.

The seven-member committee includes MPs Surendra Prasad Yadav, Rajan Bhattarai, Prabhu Shah, Bijaya Kumar Singh, Resham Bahadur Lama, Aindra Sundar Nembang and Atharkamal Musalman.

The Committee has been given 15 days to study the incident and present its report.

The Committee was formed as per the demand of the opposition parties, who obstructed the parliament meeting calling for a parliamentary probe into the incident.

NC Chief Whip Chinkaji Shrestha had proposed the formation of the Committee, which was seconded by Chief Whips of CPN-UML and UCPN (Maoist) Agni Prasad Kharel and Girirajmani Pokhrel respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.