Home National 11th meeting of Nepal-China IETC in Beijing   

11th meeting of Nepal-China IETC in Beijing   

11th meeting of Nepal-China IETC in Beijing   
11th meeting of Nepal-China IETC in Beijing   

Kathmandu, Dec 15: The 11th meeting of the Nepal-China Inter-Governmental Economic and Trade Committee (IETC) is going to be held in Beijing, China from December 17.

Spokespersons at the Ministry of Finance, Krishna Prasad Devkota, told RSS that the 11th meeting will review the meeting held in Kathmandu seven years ago and it will be focused on exploring areas for the expansion of bilateral economic and trade relations in the next fiscal year.

He said a delegation under the leadership of Finance Secretary Suman Prasad Sharma will raise the issues regarding decreasing the trade deficit with China, increasing export, attracting Chinese investment at different sector of development construction, mutual benefit and increasing assistance in the sector of economic prosperity of the country from Beijing with high priority.

Discussions will be held among high-officials for the easy and smooth accessible of Nepali products in Chinese markets, to find out methods for ending problems surfaced among Chinese construction companies and labourers in projects operated in Nepal, it is learnt.

The two-day meeting also expects increase in Chinese annual assistance to Nepal. A high-official at the Chinese Embassy made positive response in the quire of RSS regarding the increase of Chinese assistance.

Another delegation member said that China has been making preparation to increase its assistance by double in the fiscal year 2015/16 and there was possibility of agreement in the meeting for the same.

Spokesperson Devkota said the agreement regarding assistance could be signed as the government has given authority to the Finance Secretary in this regard.”

China has been providing financial assistance of Rs 150 million RMB annually to run different socio-economic and infrastructure development projects.

The 10-member delegation comprising Secretary at thye Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Sureshman Shrestha; Secretary at the Ministry of Commerce and Supply, Narayan Gopal Malego, Chief at the International Economic Assistance Coordination Division, Madhu Kumar Marasini; Director General at the Department of Customs, Surya Prasad Acharya, among others. The delegation is leaving for Beijing this night.

Source RSS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.