18th SAARC concludes with SAARC framework agreement for energy co-operation(eletricity)

by Glocal Khabar 311 views0

Kathmandu, 27 Nov 2014: The SAARC Framework Agreement for Energy Co-operation (electricity) has been reached among the SAARC member states aimed at addressing the increasing demand for power in the region.

SAARC Foreign Ministers signed Agreement at the concluding session of the 18th SAARC Summit this afternoon.

Prime Minister and Chairperson of the SAARC Sushil Koirala had urged the SAARC Foreign Ministers to sign the agreements.

The agreements were signed in the presence of Heads of State or Government of the SAARC countries.

Dunya Moumoon, Foreign Minister of the Republic of Maldives, Mahendra Bahadur Pandey, Foreign Minister of Nepal, Zarar Ahmad Osmani, Acting Foreign Minister of Afghanistan, Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, Foreign Minister of Bangladesh, Sushma Swaraj, External Affairs Minister of India, Lyanpo Rinzin Dorje, Foreign Minister of Bhutan, Gamani Lakshman Peiris, Foreign Minister of Sri Lanka and Sartaz Aziz, Advisor to the Prime Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan signed the agreements on behalf of their respective countries.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.