Home Kathmandu APF Bags the Title of Champions of 16th National Women’s Football League

APF Bags the Title of Champions of 16th National Women’s Football League


Kathmandu, 12 January, 2018: In a match held between Nepal APF Club and Nepal Police Club (NPC) at ANFA complex grounds, Nepal APF Club has bagged the title of 16th National Women’s Football League.

Nepal APF Club defeated Nepal Police by a difference of 3-1. Sabitra Bhandari and Saru Limbu from APF scored three points while Rupa Magar from NPC scored a solace goal.

Bhandari was able to lead forward APF in the 17th minute. When NPC’s goalkeeper, Sushmita Thakuri stumbled on Renuka Nagarkoti’s free kick, Bhandari was capable of scoring. Similarly, Limbu was able to double this tally after two minutes by creating misperception among the NPC defenders.

NPC tried to bounce back in the game but deficit in the 34th minute when Magar scored in a rebound after APF goalkeeper Anjila Subba failed to defend Dipa Neupane’s shot. Similarly, Bhandari added a goal and the team entered into the third goal in the 75th minute bagging the victory.

APF had won all the three matches in the group stage by adding nine points of the Super League round played among the four teams.“We were informed very late about the tournament and our team was on the election duty. The players put their best efforts to win this title and also election duty helped our players to get better in physical and fitness due to regular training.” Janak Singh, the coach of APF added.

Sabitra Bhandari, altogether collected 27 goals, declared as the best forward and her teammate Anjali Subba was named as the best goal keeper. The winner APF got Rs. 200,000, while runners-up Trinhuvan Army Club(TAC) received Rs. 100,000 and NPC received RS. 50,000.
Similarly, Janak Singh of APF got titled as the ‘Best Coach’. Dipa Rai and Anjila Waiba from TAC were named as ‘Best Defender’ and ‘Best Midfielder’ respectively. The individual award winners got Rs 25,000 each.

Source: RSS