Home Youth Opportunities Call for Submission: Harvard Graduate School of Design’s 2020 Wheelwright Prize

Call for Submission: Harvard Graduate School of Design’s 2020 Wheelwright Prize


The 2020 Wheelwright Prize is now accepting applications. The Harvard Graduate School of Design (Harvard GSD) is pleased to announce the 2020 cycle of the Wheelwright Prize, an open international competition that awards $100,000 to a talented early-career architect to support an expansive, intensive design research project. The prize is dedicated to advancing original architectural research that is informed by cross-cultural engagement and that shows the potential to make a significant impact on architectural discourse.

The competition seeks individual applicants who are accomplished but emerging, who are resourceful and risk-taking, and who can make the most of this extraordinary opportunity to advance a research project that will have a significant impact on his or her professional development, and on the discipline of architecture as a whole.

Applicants will be judged on the quality of their design work, scholarly accomplishments, originality or persuasiveness of the research proposal, evidence of ability to fulfill the proposed project, and the potential for a successful project to make an important contribution to architectural discourse.

In 2013, Harvard GSD recast the Arthur W. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, established in 1935 in memory of Wheelwright, Class of 1887, into an open, international competition; previously intended to encourage the study of architecture outside the United States at a time when international travel was difficult, the Fellowship had traditionally been available only to GSD alumni.


  • $100,000 prize to support the proposed research project
  • Invitation to lecture at Harvard GSD
  • Possibility to publish research in a Harvard GSD publication


  • The applicant must have graduated from a professionally accredited architecture degree program in the past 15 years. (Graduates before January 2005 are ineligible.) Holders of multiple degrees may apply, provided they received their professional degrees between January 2005 and January 2020. Applicants need not be registered or licensed.
  • Applicants may not have received the Arthur Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship previously.
  • Winners of the Wheelwright Prize may not hold other fellowships concurrently.
  • The Wheelwright Prize is available to individual entrants only; teams or firms will not be considered.
  • Current Harvard GSD faculty, instructors, and staff are not eligible.
  • For winners based in the United States, some amount of research must be undertaken outside the country.
  • The Wheelwright Prize is intended for independent study and may not be applied to university tuition. However, the grant may be applied to fees for workshops and conferences.

Eligible Regions: Open for all

Application Deadline: January 26, 2020

Official Link: http://wheelwrightprize.org/