Home International Calling for Asia Pacific Youth ICH Storytelling Contest 2019

Calling for Asia Pacific Youth ICH Storytelling Contest 2019

Calling for Asia Pacific Youth ICH Storytelling Contest 2019

UNESCO (The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) prioritized youth as the main driver of innovation and change for sustainable development and emphasized youth participation. Especially, since intangible cultural heritage relies on community transmission, the role and participation of young people leading future generations is very important.

As a UNESCO category 2 center, ICHCAP (International Conference on Harmonization) has organized the youth ICH storytelling contest with an aim to give youth practitioner’s opportunity to develop their safeguarding activities and raise awareness of ICH among young generations.

Story should be based on how future generations are transmitting specific ICH elements in the Asia-Pacific region. Story which conveys the importance of safeguarding and sustaining Asia-Pacific ICH and its transmission by future generations. Other can be a story on practicing, safeguarding, and transmitting ICH with community-based youth participation in the Asia-Pacific region.

ICH from youth’s eyes.
We invite you to tell your own stories.


Entry qualifications: Youth in the Asia-Pacific region (Born 1983-2001).


Applying Process

Digital file should be attached when submitting the application form.


  1. Only entries submitted before 15 October (Thu) 24:00 (Korean Time) will be valid.
  2. Attached digital files shall not be greater than 2GB.
  3. If a digital file exceeds 2GB, include a link (URL) to an open account (Google Drive, We Transfer, Dropbox, etc.). (A confirmation e-mail will be sent within forty-eight hours, excluding weekends.)
  4. For winners only, subtitles script and clean version file (MOV) must be submitted for future translation of subtitles, even if the video content was submitted in a different format. (Individually guided)



Grand Prize – 1 – USD 1,000 or equivalent

Excellence Prize – 1 – USD 700 or equivalent

Distinction Prize -2 – USD 500 or equivalent

Special Prize – 4 – USD 200 or equivalent

Participation Prize -10 – Gifts.


Deadline Date: October 15, 2019


For more details and application: