Home Events Himalaya Toastmasters Turns Four

Himalaya Toastmasters Turns Four


Samrat Singh Silwal and Binaya Poudel from Himalaya Toastmasters win Dramatic Duo Competition organized on the occasion

Kathmandu, January 2, 2016: Himalaya Toastmasters Club on last Thursday organized a programme to celebrate its 4th anniversary. The event held at the Bagaicha Restaurant in Jawalakhel also had a Dramatic Duo Speech Competition between three different Toastmasters clubs in Kathmandu.

Established in 2012 by 10 people, the club now has grown to be 36 members strong.

On the programme, various mentors, past-presidents of the club and members shared their fond memories from the journey into the club so far.

Sharing his experiences, Ankit Goenka reminisced how they formed the club and moved it forward.

Similarly, Suman Shakya, an entrepreneur and mentor to the club said that the club has come a long way, organizing inter club competitions on different occasions. He also talked about the necessity for the clubs in Kathmandu needing to come forward and collaborate among all the clubs.

Meanwhile, advertising entrepreneur Ranjit Acharya shared his 19 years of journey into toastmasters and how it has helped him in improving his public speaking skills and personality at large.

Speaking on the ceremony, Mannsi Agrawal, Charter president of the club remembered the beginning days of Himalaya Toastmasters. “Though it was easy to start the club, it was an uphill task to bring the club to this height,” she shared.

A Drama Duo Speech Contest was also held on the occasion, in which 3 Toastmasters clubs in the town participated. As part of the competition, the participants staged drama, in the form of public speaking, and entertained the audience.

Samrat Singh Silwal and Binaya Poudel Himalaya Toastmasters club were announced winners in the competition. Through the drama, they shared a story on how hard it is to be a girl, and what it takes to be a girl. The drama portrayed gender blues prevalent in our society and presented the story from a girl’s point of view.

Amidst the ceremony, past presidents and mentors of the club including Brijendra Pradhan, Ravi Shanker Bhatt, Moon Pradhan, Mannsi Agrawal among others were felicitated with tokens of love.

The event also had an entertaining musical session by Ms. Preeti Kaur.