Home Kathmandu Lil Bahadur Chettri and Ramlal Joshi awarded

Lil Bahadur Chettri and Ramlal Joshi awarded


(L to R) Senior journalist Kanak Mani Dixit, litterateur Kamal Mani Dixit, recipient of Jagadamba Shree Lil Bahadur Chettri, recipient of Madan Puraskar Ramlal Joshi and writer Prakash Sayami at the award ceremony organized by Madan Puraskar Guthi at Patan on Sunday.

Kathmandu, October 3, 2016: Madan Puraskar Guthi has awarded Lil Bahadur Chettri with this year’s Jagamba Shree Puraskar and Ramlal Joshi with this year’s Madan Puraskar in a award ceremony organized on Sunday. The Guthi’s chairman Kamal Mani Dixit handed the respective awards to the winners.

Chettri, an Assamese author of Nepali origin, was recognized for his more than sixty year long contribution to Nepali literature. While Joshi received the Madan Puraskar prize for his collection of stories ‘Aina’.

Each of the winners received certificate and a cash prize of Rs 200,000.

“My relationship with Chettri is as long as the history of Madan Puraskar. I’m glad that he traveled all the way from Guwahati at our invitation,” said Dixit. Chettri revealed that half of the prize money will be donated for the welfare of earthquake victims.

Joshi, whose work was declared the winner out of seven shortlisted books, said that his stories in ‘Aina’ don’t represent big issues but are grounded in small but sensitive issues.

This is the 60th anniversary for Madan Puraskar Guthi that has been giving away the Madan Puraskar award since 1956 and the Jagadamba Shree Puraskar from 1988.