Home Events MahaSangram Debating Championship concludes awarding the winning teams

MahaSangram Debating Championship concludes awarding the winning teams


Kathmandu, July 11, 2017: Debate Network Nepal and Xavier Academy (XA), Lazimpat, Kathmandu co-organized ‘MahaSangram 2017: International BP Championship’ from 6-10 July as part of the celebration of XA’s 20th anniversary. The championship is the third edition of Debate Network Nepal’s flagship debate championship aiming to provide a platform for young debaters to participate in international level debating in Nepal. The 5-days-long event consisted of intensive training and debating in British Parliamentary Format of Debating.

The main objective of the event was to empower youth and strengthen their quantitative and qualitative presence in debate community through debate training and competition focused on different current issues and debatable topics.

62 teams from all over and outside the country had participated in the grand event in the categories of English Opens, Nepali Opens and English Schools. The 3rd edition of MahaSangram was the first of its kind to introduce School Breaks in the history of Nepal. Each team comprised of two members and debated in British Parliamentary format in which debate lasts for an hour where four two-member teams, divided into two sides – government and opposition, defend and oppose a motion (debate topic) respectively.

The teams went through 5 rounds of preliminaries to break into the knockout stages. The grand finale of the Nepali Opens and English Opens category took place at Hotel Radisson, Kathmandu. The grand finale saw St. Xavier College “Kha” (Shobita Neupane and Asmita Nepal) as the winner in the Nepali category, Agrios Yagi “A” (Anurag Upadhyaya and Avash Byanjankar) as the winner of English Opens and Team BOB (Paribesh Sitoula and Shuvam Thakur) as the winner of English Schools. Shalupa Khanal and Avash Byanjankar were declared as the best Nepali and English speakers respectively. The best adjudicator was awarded to Pradeep Ghimire.

The winners pose for a picture with the organizing team
Anurag Upadhyaya and Avash Byanjankar, the winners of English Opens

The event was judged by national and international adjudicators and was guided by a Core Adjudication Panel (CAP) consisting of Iffat Sumaiya Mehzabeen, Pawan Adhikari, and Poshan Khanal. Mr. Jim O’Neill, the Country Exams Manager of British Council Nepal, graced the ceremony as the chief guest.

MahaSangram 2017 was supported by British Council Nepal which works for creating friendly knowledge and understanding between the people of the UK and Nepal. The event was managed and organized under the convenorship of Sadikshya Subedi and Prakriti Rimal from Xavier Academy.