Home Sports Nepal lose to Thai by 19 runs

Nepal lose to Thai by 19 runs

Kathmandu, November 25, 2016: Nepal lost to hosts Thailand by 19 runs in a low scoring practice match ahead of the ACC Women’s Asia Cup in Bangkok on Thursday.

No 7 batswoman Chanida Sutthiruang fought a lonely battle for the Thais who recovered from 44-7 to post 82-7 in Twenty20 overs. Nepal lost their first four wickets for just seven runs as they hardly recovered before being skittled out for 63 runs in 19.1 overs.

Nary Thapa was the only batswomen to cross double figures for Nepal making 17 off 23, while former skipper Neera Rajopadhyay (seven), Rashmi Sharma Chaulagain (six), captain Rubina Chhetri (five) and Sarita Magar (five) were their next best scorers. Thapa and Chhetri hit the only two boundaries of Nepali innings.

Nattaya Boochatham (2-4), Rattana Padunglero (2-10) and Ratanaporn Sangsoma (2-5) shared six wickets between them for Thailand. Nepal collected 14 extra runs that helped them cross 50-run mark.

Thailand were clueless when Saraswati Chaudhary, Sita Rana Magar and Karuna Bhandari picked up two wickets each as the hosts headed towards a humiliating total. Chhetri had picked up the other Thai wicket to fall. But Sutthiruang, who had also denied Nepal a victory in the recently concluded ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier Series for Asia Region in Hong Kong, held firm to lift her side.

Sutthiruang forged a 38-run partnership for the eighth wicket with Sainammin Saenya (10 not out) to give Thailand a challenging total. Sutthiruang made a 34-ball 35 not out. The Thai innings didn’t include a single boundary. Opener Nattakan Chantam (10) also made runs in double figures for Thailand.

Nepal begin their Women’s Asia Cup with the match against Pakistan at the Terdthai Cricket Ground on November 26.

Along with Thailand, Nepal are playing Test playing giants India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in the Asia Cup slated  for November 26 to December 4. The top two teams after a single round robin league will enter the final of the tournament to be played under Twenty20 format.