Home Kathmandu Five outstanding journos awarded by the president

Five outstanding journos awarded by the president

Presedent Bidya Devi Bhandari. Photo: President's Office

Kathmandu, May 8, 2018: Five outstanding journalists were honoured by President Bidhya Devi Bhandari at a function in Kathmandu on Sunday. The journalists received award and prizes at a function held to mark the ‘National Journalism Day, 2075’.

The ministry of Communications and Information technology had organized the program at the Office of the President in sheetal Niwas. Former president of Federation of Nepali Journalists Dr Mahendra Bista and journalist Dr Rajesh Jha ‘Ahiraj’ were among the journos who received the honours. They received the ‘National Journalism Prize’.

Likewise, Editor of Ghatana ra Bichar weekly and former President of Sancharika Babita Basnet and Journalists Kaushal Chemjong and Minbahadur Budhathoki were honoured with the ‘senor journalist award’. Both the prizes carry a purse of 200,000 each and is presented by the Ministry of communications and Information Technology every year.

Speaking at the program, the president called on the journalists and media to become pro-active in realizing the national goal of ‘prosperous Nepal and happy Nepalis.’