Home National SAARC SUMMIT inaugural session concludes with adoption of SAARC Council of...

SAARC SUMMIT inaugural session concludes with adoption of SAARC Council of Ministers report

 SAARC First Ladies bill their Bhaktapur tour ‘Very Interesting’  
 SAARC First Ladies bill their Bhaktapur tour ‘Very Interesting’  

Kathmandu,26 Nov 2014: The 18th SAARC Summit has approved the report endorsed by the 36th session of the SAARC Council of Ministers.

The report, endorsed by the Council of Ministers comprising foreign and external affairs ministers of SAARC member countries, was approved in the 18th SAARC Summit in the inaugural session this morning.

SAARC Chair and Prime Minister Sushil Korala had proposed for the approval of the report following the address of Heads of State and Government and representatives of observer countries.

As per the provision of SAARC Charter, the report approved by Programming Committee, Standing Committee and Council of Ministers before the start of SAARC Summit, is approved in the Summit.

On the occasion, Minister for Information and Communications, Dr Minendra Rijal, affixed the first cancellation mark on a special commemorative postal cover on the auspicious occasion of the hosting of the 18th SAARC Summit in Kathmandu. Dr Rijal then presented a copy of the same to all Heads of State or Government.

Following this, SAARC Chairperson Prime Minister Koirala announced the conclusion of the inaugural session and the first day business of the Summit.

Earlier, the Heads of State or Government adopted the agenda of the 18th SAARC summit conference presented by SAARC Chairperson President Abdul.

The proposal put forward by SAARC Chairperson Abdul that Prime Minister Koirala be declared the new SAARC Chairperson was unanimously passed by summit.

After outgoing Chairperson Abdul handed over the gavel to the newly elected Chairperson, Prime Minister Koirala took over the chairmanship of SAARC with applause for the good role that Maldives played in the steering SAARC in the past three years.

Following this, Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Afghanistan President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Wajed, Bhutanese Prime Minister Lyonchhen Tshering Tobgay, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul addressed the summit conference.

Likewise, SAARC Secretary General Arjun Thapa also addressed the function.Also addressing the inaugural function were representatives from SAARC observer countries—Australia, China, Iran, Japan, Korea, Mauritius, Myanmar, USA and the EU.

Following the inaugural session and addresses, the Heads of State or Government adopted the report of the Council of Ministers.

Prior to the inauguration of the conference, the national anthem of Nepal was played.

Earlier, Prime Minister Koirala welcomed the Heads of State or Government of the SAARC member countries upon arrival at the City Hall. They were received at the City Hall premises by Minister for Foreign Affairs Mahendra Bahadur Pandey and Chief of Protocol Kali Prasad Pokharel.

The Heads of State or Government were welcomed into the conference room with standing ovation and spontaneous applause from those already present.

Among those present at the inaugural ceremony were deputy prime ministers, ministers of the host country and foreign ministers and officials from the member countries, members of parliament and high ranking government and security officials of Nepal, Heads of Diplomatic Missions, distinguished persons and journalists representing the media from the member countries.

Source RSS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.