Home Education Team Oh Yeas wins the title of Tech Debates 2018

Team Oh Yeas wins the title of Tech Debates 2018

Tech Debates Pictures- Glocal Khabar

Kathmandu, January 27, 2018: The second edition of Tech Debates 2018 was successfully held from 19 to 22 January in the premises of Institute of Engineering, Pulchowk Campus. The event was organized as a pre-event of LOCUS exhibition which is set to showcase the best versions and transformations of technology from 2 to 4 February on Pulchowk Campus.

Out of 16 teams that had participated in the four-day-long tournament, Team Oh Yeas (OS) was declared as the victorious team which comprised of talented debaters Saurav Bhatta and Ojaswee Bhattarai. The winners were awarded a lucrative cash prize of Rs.15,000. 

Similarly, Saurav Bhatta from Team Oh Yea’ and Pawan Adhikari from Team You’ll never Win again bagged the honorary title of best speakers and received a joint cash prize of Rs.5000. Likewise, Nishma Gautam was selected best adjudicator thus winning a cash prize of Rs.3000.

The event, which was organized in association with Debate Network Nepal and supported by Islington College, witnessed a lot of effervesce from both the participants and the organizers. Pratik Luitel, an Electronic and Communication Engineering Student at IOE, was responsible for the management and organization of the event.

According to Raj Kharel, the Chair of Debate Network Nepal (DNN), “With good debaters, discussions on motions of technology and good adjudicators, Tech Debates 2018 was successful in giving the best tournament experience by an independent institution so far.”

By: Mahima Poddar