Home Miscellaneous Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon 2016 to be organized

Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon 2016 to be organized

Everest Base Camp, NEPAL: Marathon runners run under a banner at the start of the 'Everest Hillary Marathon' at Everest Base Camp, 29 May 2006 Over 140 marathon runners took part in the race covering 26.2 miles from Everest Base Camp to Namche Bazar from a height of 5,364 metres to 3,446 metres). AFP PHOTO/BIKASH KARKI (Photo credit should read BIKASH KARKI/AFP/Getty Images)

Kathmandu, May 16, 2016: Fourteenth Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon is going to be conducted on 29th May is year.

The marathon, first conducted on 19th May, 2003 to commemorate and celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first successful ascent of Mt. Everest by Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Edmund Hillary in the year 1953, will be dedicated to the 200 years Britain-Nepal bicentenary anniversary this year.

The race, in its 14th year, starts from expeditionary Everest Base Camp near the Khumbu Glacier and ends at Namche Bazaar, the capital town of Sherpas.

British Ambassador Richard Morris himself will be running the marathon -8848m, a symbolic height distance of Mt. Everest, in support of the bicentenary anniversary of diplomatic relation of these two countries.

Robert Celinski, a Polish citizen having the fastest time for foreign runner, Iranian national Parvaneh Moayedi, a dual Guiness World Record holder along with Sharif Abdullah from Singapore, titled Singapore’s first ‘Blade Runner’, who lacks left foot and runs with the prosthetic blade will join the race. Helmut Linzbichler from Austria – an Everest summitter of 2008 and Guan Yadi, a film producer and TV show runner in China are some other interesting participants in the race.

129 international participants and around 60 Nepali participants will be running the marathon.

The marathon will also include first Lumbini to Mt. Everest Peace Flame March, as part of which a team of Nepal’s national Olympic runners is carrying Buddha Peace Flame from Lumbini to Everest to give a message of national revival after the massive destructions in the mega-earthquake last year.

The marathon will be held on 5-different race categories with varying distance and difficulty.