Home National Top 6 Finalists for Wai Wai Glocal Teen Hero Announced

Top 6 Finalists for Wai Wai Glocal Teen Hero Announced


Kathmandu, July 15, 2016:  The top six finalists have been selected for “Wai Wai Glocal Teen Hero 2016” after a very competitive 281 entries. ‘Wai Wai Glocal Teen Hero 2016’ is an initiation by Glocal Khabar (a concern of Glocal Pvt. Ltd.) to bring out the teenagers who are doing something from the shadows and create a ripple effect of motivation and impart a message that a lot can be done by anyone and also to appreciate and recognize the teenagers. It is a platform for teenagers to share their initiation, creativity and enthusiasm which will then motivate them and more of the other teenagers in the nation to develop an entrepreneurial thinking.

The jury panel consists of influential and prominent people Anil Keshary Shah, CEO of Mega Bank; Saurav Jyoti, Director of Jyoti Group; Samriddhi Rai, Singer/Artist; Narottam Aryal, Executive Director of King’s College; and Ambica Shrestha, President of Dwarika’s Hotels and Resorts.

The top six finalist selected were judged under three basic criteria: innovation, impact and achievement by the above mentioned jury and are Anil Kharel, Sports, Rupandehi aged 15   years; Anjal Niraula, Social, Kathmandu aged 14 years; Deepak B.K., Social, Pokhara aged 18 years; Gaurav Pokhrel, writer aged 15 years, Jhapa; Samata Shrestha, poet, Kathmandu aged 19 years; and Shantosh Lamichhane, Science, Lalitpur aged 18 years. All these selected teenagers will face the jury in the interview scheduled on 25th of July.

The winner will be declared on 1st of August at 3:30 pm at Hotel Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Kathmandu, which will be broadcasted live on NTV Plus, amidst a Grand Ceremony in the presence of 250+ personalities from different walks of life, including diplomats, politicians, film stars, entrepreneurs, youth leaders and many more. The program has been organised by Glocal Khabar in strategic alliance with the Ministry of Youth & Sports, Wai Wai, B.P. Koirala India Nepal Foundation of Embassy of India, and UNDP and supported by Panchakanya Group, Coca-Cola, Hotel Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Honda, Nepal Airlines, Buddha Air, Sparrow SMS, and QFX Cinemas.

Let’s encourage these diligent teenagers by voting them. The voting lines will be open till midnight of 26th of July. In order to vote for your favorite finalist, type GTHspacecode and send it to 33001.

The voting codes for the finalists:

Anil Kharel- GTH AK

Anjal Niraula- GTH AN

Deepak B.K. – GTH DB

Gaurav Pokhrel- GTH GP

Samata Shrestha- GTH SS

Santosh Lamichhane- GTH SL