Home National The government honoured the highest taxpayers

The government honoured the highest taxpayers


Kathmandu, November 18, 2018: On the occasion of the 7th National Tax Day, the top companies in 15 categories were honored as the highest taxpayers under different categories by the Government of Nepal. They were awarded by the Finance Minister, Dr. Yuvraj Khatiwada at a programme organized by the Inland Revenue Department that was held on November 17, 2018.

Already been as the top taxpayer twice in the prior years, the multinational company, Surya Nepal is once again recognized as this year’s highest taxpayer. Likewise, under the individual category, Siddhartha Shumsher was honored as the top taxpayer.

The respective list was followed by Dabur Nepal, Himal Power Ltd, Agriculture, and Livestock Probiotic Industry, the Chhimek Cooperatives, Nabil Bank, Nepal Punarbeema (Re-Insurance) Company, Nobel Medical College, F1 Soft Information and Hyatt Regency Hotel. The program also awarded five best employees and others championing in different sports.

The Finance Minister, Dr. Khatiwada highlighted the importance of tax for the development of Nepal and urged one and all to pay taxes as per their level of income, stressing on the need of raising awareness that even the lowest tax-payer is a respectable tax-payer.