Home Sports Chula Chuli, Durga win Coca Cola Cup

Chula Chuli, Durga win Coca Cola Cup


Kathmandu, September 21, 2016: Chula Chuli English Boarding School of Jhapa and Shree Durga Secondary School of Rautahat have become the champions of the boys’ and girls’ sections of the Coca Cola Inter-school National Football Tournament on Tuesday.

In the final match of the boys’ section played at ANFA complex, Satdobato, Chula Chuli defeated Shree Halchwok Higher Secondary School of Kathmandu 1-0. Amar Rai scored a goal in 35th minute for the winning side which was enough to seal victory as Halchwok failed to score throughout the match.

Bhanubhakta Memorial HSS of Morang grabbed third place in the boys’ section as they overcame Scholar’s Home English Secondary School of Rupandehi 4-2 in the third-place playoff.

The winner Chula Chuli was awarded Rs 300,000 while the runner-up received Rs 150,000. Third and fourth position holders received Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000 each.

In the girls’ section, semifinalists Bal Kalyan Higher Secondary School of Morang and Nepal Rashtriya Higher Secondary School of Kathmandu were disqualified after the tournament committee found enough evidence of the two teams fielding ineligible players.

Both teams had registered complaints against each other alleging that the other team had fielding players from outside the school, which was eventually proved to be true.

The disqualification meant, Durga Higher Secondary School, which defeated Ideal Higher Secondary School 1-0 in the other semifinal on Monday was declared the winner.

After being announced as the winner, Durga Secondary School took home Rs 200,000 while Ideal Higher Secondary School bagged Rs 100, 000 as runner-up.

Best Players (Boys)

Best Forward: Som Putuwar (Halchowk)
Best Midfielder: Dipen Chhetri (Chula Chuli)
Best Defender: Shankar Rai (Scholar’s Home)
Best Goalkeeper: Yogesh Bhattarai (Bhanubhakta)
Best Coach: Binod Bhandari (Chula Chuli)

Best Players (Girls)

Best Forward: Rashmi Kumari Ghising (Durga)
Best Midfielder: Rabina Maharjan (Nepal Rashtriya)
Best Defender: Anita Shrestha (Ideal)
Best Goalkeeper: Anjana Rana Magar (Durga)
Best Coach: Chitra Kumar Darlami (Durga)