Mighty APF clinch title

    CoAS Cup Women’s Football

    Kathmandu, November 10, 2016: Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club defended the title of the CoAS Cup Women’s Football with a 3-1 win over Central Region in final on Wednesday.

    It was the third title that the departmental team have clinched in four years. The only time APF were unable to lift the trophy was when the organisers’ Army team won in the second edition. Central Region also became the first non-departmental team to reach the title match.

    Sabitra Bhandari struck twice and Anita Basnet added the third goal for APF. Nisha Thoker pulled back one for Central Region. Bhandari put APF ahead in the 26th minute by capitalising a pass from skipper Laxmi Paudel. Bhandari then pounced on a weak defensive clearance to head home the second goal in the 42nd minute.

    Central Region reduced the deficit in the 67th minute when Thoker converted with a spectacular freekick. But any hopes of making another comeback ended when Basnet netted the third goal for APF in the 82nd minute. Fed by skipper Paudel, Basnet sent the ball at the far side net.

    “We were able to defend the title with relative ease because of the quality of our squad. We played as a team and won the title,” said APF skipper Paudel. Paudel led the team in the absence of regular skipper Bhagwati Thapa, who was out injured, and national team skipper Anu Lama, who was ruled out with illness.

    The champions received Rs 300,000 and the runners-up took home Rs 150,000. APF had made it to the final with a thumping 15-0 rout of Western Region  in first round and 3-1 truimph over Nepal Police Club in the semi-finals. Bhandari also rode home with a scooter, awarded for the best player of the tournament. She scored 13 goals in three games.

    Janak Singh Tharu of APF won the best coach award. Saru Limbu of APF was named the best forward, Anjana Rana Magar of Central Region the best goalkeeper, Thoker of APF the best defender and Sumita Yonjan of Army Club the best midfielder. All individual award carried a purse of Rs 10,000 each.