MoU for Energy Cooperation to be Signed Between Government and BIMSTEC Countries


    Kathmandu, August 20, 2018: Nepal government is looking forward to signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in upcoming BIMSTEC submit. The aim of signing MoU is to establish the BIMSTEC grid of interconnection among the six BIMSTEC countries for energy cooperation.

    Sunday, a cabinet meeting was conducted at Singha Durbar. The meeting concluded with a decision to hand over the authority to sign the MoU to Pradeep Kumar Gyawali, Minister of Foreign Affairs.  He will be signing the MoU on behalf of Nepal Government. The signing of MoU is scheduled on the summit which will be at Kathmandu on August 30 and 31. BIMSTEC countries comprise of Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Bhutan.  The head of the BIMSTEC countries will be visiting Nepal to attend the summit happening in the capital.

    The countries from South Asia and South East Asia along the cost of the Bay of Bengal will negotiate to seek cooperation on the BIMSTEC summit.