Home Kathmandu Nepal Electricity Authority sets Electric Vehicle Charging Station in Ratnapark

Nepal Electricity Authority sets Electric Vehicle Charging Station in Ratnapark


Kathmandu, 24 December, 2017: In order to encourage clean and green environment in the capital, Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) has established an electric vehicle charging station at Ratnapark. NEA has partnered with the Chinese electric motor company, BYD Auto, to set up this station.

Sunil Kumar Dhungel, NEA’s Deputy Managing Director, said that this charging station would help in the eradication of the ongoing air pollution as people will get attracted towards electrically powered vehicles. According to him, the charging station has been under a demonstration purpose at the moment.

“The main purpose behind it is to give out the message that the use of electric vehicles can contribute to clean environment. It will also decrease dependency on fossil fuel and promote the use of electricity generated in the country,” remarked Dhungel.

NEA is currently working on to welcome the plans of setting up such charging stations by other enterprises as well. Dhungel added, “NEA can support them by providing electricity if they wish to operate in different locations.”

NEA believes after the completion of Upper Tamakoshi Hydropower Project, there will be energy surplus situation in the monsoon. This energy can be utilized to power charging stations in different parts of the country.

According to the Environment-friendly Vehicle and Transport Policy (2014), policies have been introduced in order to decrease the emission of greenhouse gases up to 20 percent by 2020. However, the electric vehicles have to pass through an unusual test before getting the permission to go on the road.

Battery capacity, motor power, energy storing capacity of the battery, mileage after full charge, breaking distance and its capability to go uphill are the main requisites in order to have the access license of electric vehicles. The Vehicle Fitness Test Center of the Department of Transport Management (DoTM) conducts this test.