Home National 3 Head of States, 5 Head of Governments to attend SAARC summit

3 Head of States, 5 Head of Governments to attend SAARC summit


Kathmandu, Nov 22: Three head of states and five head of governments of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) nations are scheduled to attend the 18th SAARC Summit to be held in
the capital city this Wednesday and Thursday.

President of Afghanistan Ashraf Ghani, President of the Maldives Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom and President of Sri Lanka Mahinda Rajapaksa are scheduled to arrive in Kathmandu on Tuesday by leading their delegations.

Likewise, Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Bhutan Lyonchhen Tshering Tobgay, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif are also arriving in Kathmandu on Tuesday.

Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, the head of government of Nepal, is leading the delegation of the host country.

The head of states and governments and the first ladies would be welcomed by the chief of protocol and ambassadors or chief of diplomatic missions of concerned countries at the airport while a Deputy Prime Minister, a minister, chief secretary and chief personal secretary of the prime minister would welcome them after getting off their vehicles, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.

Secretary of the President’s Office would also welcome the head of the state and the first ladies.

After the end of the formal programme of the welcome, the head of states and governments would depart for Hotel Soaltee.

Likewise, Education Minister Chitra Lekha Yadav and Energy Minister Radha Gyawali would welcome the head of states and governments before they enter into the VIP Suite in Hotel Soaltee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.