Home Sports Baluwatar team all set for Malaysia tour

Baluwatar team all set for Malaysia tour

Players and officials of the Baluwatar Cricket Club pose with national cricket team skipper Paras Khadka and Subash Khakurel in Kathmandu on Tuesday, May 17, 2016. Photo: THT

Kathmandu,May 18, 2016: A 15-member team of Baluwatar Cricket Club is on Wednesday leaving for Malaysia to participate in the KDP U-15 Tri-series Cricket Tournament from May 19-22 in Kuala Lumpur.

The Nepali team will play two matches each against PJ Club and BJSS at the Kinrara Oval grounds. It will open the campaign with a match against BJSS on May 19 before playing two matches on May 21. The last match of the tournament is slated for May 22 against PJ Club.

Irfan Khan will lead the side, while Ugen Sherchan is the vice-captain. Other members of the squad are Nibesh Singh Silwal, Surendra Bikram Basnet, Prakat Sherchan, Sandeep Shrestha, Saditya Banjara, Devansh Acharya, Aaron Khadka, Ashraya Piya, Revant Sharma and Amrit Singh Ghale. Coach Sunil Lama and manager Dinesh Kumar will accompany the players to Malaysia.

Former president of Cricket Association of Nepal Binay Raj Pandey, national team captain Paras Khadka, wicketkeeper Subash Khakurel, actor Nirmal Sharma and President of Baluwatar Cricket Club Upendra Prasad Bhattarai bade farewell to the team. Skipper Khadka, who is also the product of BCC, said the tournament was an opportunity for the young players.  President Bhattarai said BCC had a proud history in Nepali cricket and the academy was opened to contribute in the development of the sport.