Home Nepali Cricket News Gyanendra Malla named Nepal cricket team’s new captain

Gyanendra Malla named Nepal cricket team’s new captain


Kathmandu: Gyanendra Malla has been appointed the new captain of Nepal’s national cricket team by the Cricket Association Nepal. Malla has been deputy captain of Nepalese team for the last ten years. After the resignation of Paras Khadka, Malla was regarded as a main contender for the captain. Therefore, Malla, who served as the team’s vice-captain, has replaced Paras Khadka, who resigned from his post on October 15. Khadka had resigned after Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN)’s suspension got lifted by the ICC.

Khadka’s resignation was officially accepted by CAN on Wednesday. He submitted his official resignation via email on Sunday. Khadka served as the captain for ten years. Similarly, Dipendra Singh Airee has been appointed as the team’s vice-captain.

Gyanendra Malla said- “The appointment of a new captain was not in my hands so I didn’t have any focus on it. I was surprised when I was appointed as captain.” He said it was an honor to be taking over the captaincy of Nepali National Cricket Team.

“Under the tremendous leadership of Paras Khadka, the team always took a beatific flight and the whole team had that dream guide. Coming to that huge responsibility down to me, I will do all it takes it to keep maintaining the success and also driving the team towards more of it in the coming days to come. Thank you, everyone, for all the support and love bestowed upon me and will forever remain motivated to keep up to your expectations! Thank you so much once again.”-shared on social media.

Similarly, Rit Gautam has been appointed the captain of Nepal’s U-19 team. He replaces Rohit Kumar Paudel as the captain of the U-19 team.